The Sacraments

The Roman Catholic Church decrees seven sacraments:

  1. Baptism
  2. Confirmation
  3. The Eucharist
  4. Penance
  5. Anointing of the Sick
  6. Holy Orders
  7. Matrimony

Rome also declares that the sacraments are necessary for salvation:

“The Church affirms that for believers the sacraments of the New Covenant are necessary for salvation. “Sacramental grace” is the grace of the Holy Spirit, given by Christ and proper to each sacrament. the Spirit heals and transforms those who receive him by conforming them to the Son of God. the fruit of the sacramental life is that the Spirit of adoption makes the faithful partakers in the divine nature by uniting them in a living union with the only Son, the Savior.” – Catechism of the Catholic Church, para. 1129

The teaching of Roman Catholicism is that grace is infused into the believer upon partaking in each sacrament:

“The principal ways of obtaining grace are prayer and the sacraments, especially the holy Eucharist.” – The New Saint Joseph Baltimore Catechism, No. 2, Answer to Question 117

Are the sacraments a method of receiving God’s grace? Did Jesus leave us with a sacramental system from which we would receive grace? What does the Scripture say?

“Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ: By whom also we have access by faith into this grace wherein we stand, and rejoice in hope of the glory of God.” – Romans 5:1-2 KJV

“I thank my God always on your behalf, for the grace of God which is given you by Jesus Christ” – 1 Corinthians 1:4 KJV

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” – Ephesians 2:8-9 KJV

Paul made it clear that we receive God’s grace through faith. Grace is given through faith alone and not through a form of sacramental system.